Marijuana / Cannabis Possession

Widespread use of CBD oils and hemp products hasn’t changed the government’s attitude toward marijuana. Just ask the grandmother who was arrested at Disney with CBD oil in her purse. The fact is that Cannabis possession in any amount in any form is still against the law in Florida.

Possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana is a first-degree misdemeanor which can lead to a year in jail, plus fines, probation and a criminal record. And that’s just for the leafy green stuff. There is zero tolerance for possession of concentrated marijuana products like resin, hash, vape, wax and oils — no matter how many grams.

Drug possession charges in Florida of any kind can ruin your life. The best thing you can do is reach out to an aggressive and experienced criminal defense attorney who knows the rules of the game as well – or better – than the prosecutors. You need an advocate to fight for your rights within the system. You want a lawyer who will fight for your freedom harder than the prosecutor who wants to take it away.

You want the best criminal defense attorney you can get. You want to talk with a lawyer who knows the courthouse and knows how to make it work for you. Consider the Orlando drug possession defense attorneys at the Rivas Law Firm, expert lawyers with exceptional skills and a passion for justice. Talk to us. Call 407-644-2466.

Possession with Intent to Sell / Trafficking Charges

Possession of more than 20 grams of marijuana – or any other controlled substance – is a felony that can land you in prison for years. How many years depends on how much of which drug you are charged with holding. You can also face heavy fines, probation and loss of your driver’s license.

Possession of more than 20 grams up to 25 pounds of cannabis is a third-degree felony can get you up to five years in prison. If you get busted with more than 25 pounds of pot, you’ll likely be charged with “trafficking in cannabis”, and are looking at a mandatory minimum of three years in prison with a maximum 15 years, along with a $25,000 fine plus probation and other penalties. Tons of weed can mean mandatory minimum prison sentences of seven to 15 years with a maximum of 30 years and fines from $50,000 to $200,000.

If you’ve been charged with drug possession in Florida, you’ll want the best criminal defense / drug possession lawyer you can get. Consider The Rivas Law Firm, where you’ll find an aggressive advocate with a winning record to fight for your rights. Call 407-644-2466 to talk with us about your situation.

Ask a Question, Describe Your Case or Schedule a Free Consultation:

Jose Rivas and His Team Have Been Seen On: