Carjacking, Florida Statute 812.133, is a serious crime. Taking someone’s car by force is a first-degree felony punishable by up to 30 years in prison, 30 years probation, and a fine up to $10,000. Enhanced sentencing applies when a weapon or firearm is used during the carjacking.
Florida’s 10/20/Life Firearm Enhancement law mandates minimum prison sentences for a carjacking involving a weapon:
As with any case, a criminal defense attorney can make pretrial motions to have certain evidence suppressed (if the police violated procedure) and make motions to dismiss the case altogether if the prosecution has a weak case. If the case goes to court, your lawyer may present mitigating evidence, argue that your act was not intentional, or use other appropriate measures or tactics in your defense.
If you are charged with carjacking, you’ll want the best carjacking defense lawyer available. Consider the skilled and aggressive Orlando Carjacking Defense Attorneys at Rivas Law.
Call 407-349-4211 to speak with an attorney and begin a vigorous defense so you can deal with your legal challenges and get on with your life.