There can be severe penalties for people convicted of drug charges in Florida. In general, depending on the type and amount of drugs involved, charges for possession of a controlled substance vary from misdemeanor to felony. For instance, possession of 20 grams or less of
cannabis is a first-degree misdemeanor, which can result in up a year in jail and a $1,000 fine. Many cases involving small amounts of drugs listed on the drug schedule are charged as a third-degree felony.
But possession of large amounts of many of these drugs can be charged as a first-degree felony — punishable by up to 30 years in prison, probation, and a $10,000 fine. Federal drug charges can be even more serious.
What is the average jail time for drug possession in Florida?
The question should be what is the average prison sentence for drug possession, which is a little over three years. In general, county jails are for prisoners serving a year or less. Longer stretches are served in a state prison or federal prison.
Your best shot at staying out of prison is a first-rate defense from the best drug possession lawyer you can find. Consider the Rivas Law Firm, where you’ll find an aggressive advocate with a winning record to fight for your rights. Call 407-349-4211 to talk with us about your situation.