Nearly two million people have had their driver’s license suspended in Florida. You can lose your driving license for a lot of reasons that have nothing to do with driving. In addition to racking up points or being convicted of a DUI, your driving privilege may be suspended for certain criminal convictions as well as failing to pay court fines or child support.
What Happens if You Get Caught Driving with a Suspended License in Florida?
“Florida routinely suspends driver’s licenses when payments for traffic, toll violations and criminal fines and fees are late, with no assessment of a person’s ability to pay,” according to a recent report. “Few courts offer reasonable payment plans – despite state law that requires it. And after 90 days, court debt is sent to private collections agencies that can add up to 40% to the total amount due.”
Many people cannot afford to pay these fines. But they still have to get to work. Or they are unknowingly driving with a suspended license in Florida. “They get pulled over on a suspended driver’s license, they’re arrested and taken to jail, and that’s usually their first entry into the criminal justice system,” says a Florida legislator. “When they get to court, they plead guilty. Now, they have a record and that begins the cycle for them. The snowball starts with a suspended driver’s license.”
Others have had bad luck in the past. Driving with a suspended license in Florida while on probation may mean a probation violation. The 3rd offense of driving without a license in Florida is a felony. The sentence is five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
How do I Become a Habitual Traffic Offender in Florida?
Under Florida’s “three strikes” law for driving offenses, three convictions of either a DUI or Driving With a Suspended License, or other violation, such as leaving the scene of an accident, makes you a Habitual Traffic Offender. Florida Statute 322.27(5) requires the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to revoke your Florida driver’s license for a minimum of five years.
How do I Get My License Unsuspended in Florida?
Under certain circumstances, an attorney experienced at dealing with the DHSMV may be able to get the designation overturned and have your license restored.
Can a Habitual Traffic Offender Get a Hardship License?
You can apply for a hardship license after one year, but they do not automatically grant it. It’s a process with deadlines, conditions, and a review hearing. Your best chance at success is to contact a driver’s license suspension lawyer immediately after getting a letter of suspension
from the DHSMV.
You do have rights, and an aggressive Suspended License Defense Lawyer is your best chance to get the charges behind you so you can get on with your life. If you’re facing charges of driving with a suspended license in Florida, you’ll want the best Driver’s License Suspension Law Firm you can get. Don’t just ignore the problem and hope for the best. You may have options you’re not aware of and may be eligible for reinstatement or a hardship license.
Talk with the Orlando defense lawyers at the Rivas Law firm. Call 407-349-4211 for a free consultation so you can get back in the driver’s seat.