In most cases, you can get away with only a ticket if caught driving with an expired tag or registration. But you’ll face second-degree criminal misdemeanor charges if you’re a repeat offender. According to Florida Statute 320.07, driving with a tag that has been expired “for more than 6 months, upon a second or subsequent offense” is a criminal charge punishable by up to 60 days in jail.
Any criminal charge is serious. And you may face fines, points of your driving record, and the possibility of a permanent criminal record. If you are facing criminal traffic charges in Florida, call (407) 349-4211 for a free consultation with the Orlando criminal defense lawyers at the Rivas Law Firm.
Avoid Expired Tag or Registration Charges
Many people put off renewing their tags because to the hassle of getting to the DMV and waiting in long lines. But you can renew your tags online by going to GoRenew.com on your computer or using the MyFlorida DMV mobile app. You can pay by credit card and have the option of renewing your Florida vehicle registration for one or two years. You should receive your new registration and tag stickers in seven to ten days.
Criminal Traffic Charges in Florida
Many traffic violations in Florida are civil infractions, meaning that you generally pay a fine, get points on your license or have to take safe driving classes. But criminal traffic charges in Florida can involve the possibility of jail time, heavy fines, loss of your driving privilege, community service, and probation. It’s best to talk to an experienced and aggressive criminal defense attorney who may be able to get the case dismissed or at least get the charges reduced.
If the police pull you over with an expired tag, the officer will likely issue a summons if your registration is expired less than six months ago or if it is your first offense. If it’s the second offense of driving with tags expired for more than six months, the officer will give you a ticket. You may be facing criminal charges. The court clerk will send you a notice for an arraignment. Then you face procedures and hearings, possible plea deals, and the prospect of a trial.
Defending yourself against a criminal traffic violation in Florida can take up a lot of your time with court appearances and dealings with the court clerk and the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). It’s worth weighing the expense of possible fines and your time away from work against the cost of an experienced defense attorney who will fight for your rights and the best possible outcome in your case.
Most people get worn down by the prospect of dealing with the courts. They plead guilty and hope for the best, but many wind up with a criminal record after paying fines and seemingly endless fees. A defense attorney can represent you in the proceedings and make the prosecutor prove every aspect of the charges. With an attorney, you have a much better chance of getting the charges reduced or even having your case dismissed. If you face
criminal charges, contact the Orlando criminal defense attorneys at the Rivas Law Firm. Call
(407) 349-4211 for a free consultation.